Mobile Menu Open/Close

Circuit and Associate Judges

Circuit Judges

The Circuit Judges are elected to six-year terms of office. The Circuit Judges within the circuit elect a Chief Judge from among their members every two years. The Chief Judge has the general authority for all administrative matters arising in the circuit and may delegate duties as he/she deems appropriate. The Circuit Judges in Sangamon County select, and the Chief Judge appoints, a Presiding Judge to handle administrative matters in Sangamon County.

Associate Judges

The law also provides for the appointment in each judicial circuit of a number of Associate Judges based on population and other factors. Associate Judges are appointed by the Circuit Judges to four-year terms. There are currently ten Associate Judges in the 7th Judicial Circuit, eight of whom are seated in Sangamon County.  All judges’ salaries are paid by the State. The Circuit Judges have general jurisdiction over all cases. The Associate Judges have limited jurisdiction, except by special assignment.

Trial Court Administration

The Trial Court Administrator serves all judicial personnel within the circuit, is responsible for the daily administrative operation of courts and serves as a liaison to other state and county agencies.

Sangamon County Courthouse
200 S. 9th Street, Room 512
Springfield, Il 62701

Trial Court Administrator: Suzann Maxheimer - 217-753-6360
Court Administrative Secretary: Monica McClelland -217-753-6360
Court Administrative Assistant: Jaymie Bauer -  217-753-6811

Sangamon Circuit and Associate Judges

  • Presiding Judge: John W. Belz
    • Contact: Court Reporter Marybeth Evans - 217-753-6653

  • Circuit Judge: Peter C. Cavanagh
    • Contact: Court Reporter Andrea Pryor - 217-753-6390

  • Circuit Judge: Leslie J. Graves
    • Contact: Court Reporter Rhonda O'Neal - 217-753-6823

  • Circuit Judge: John P. Schmidt
    • Contact: Court Reporter Tina Hoecker - 217-753-6745
  • Circuit Judge: John M. Madonia
    • Contact: Court Reporter Tammy Wagahoff - 217-753-6391

  • Circuit Judge: Vacant Pending Election
    • Contact: Court Reporter Laura Berry - 217-753-6813

  • Associate Judge: Rudolph M. Braud
    • Contact: Lee Ann Harris - 217-753-6366
  • Associate Judge: Matthew J. Maurer
    • Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar - 217-753-6365
  • Associate Judge: Jennifer M. Ascher
    • Contact: Jenny Durr - 217-753-6367
  • Associate Judge: Brian T. Otwell
    • Contact: Lee Ann Harris - 217-753-6366

  • Associate Judge: Christopher G. Perrin
    • Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar - 217-753-6365
  • Associate Judge: Esteban F. Sanchez
    • Contact:Jenny Durr - 217-753-6367

  • Associate Judge: Jack D. Davis II
    • Contact:Lee Ann Harris - 217-753-6366

  • Associate Judge: Karen S. Tharp
    • Contact: Jenny Durr - 217-753-6367

Greene County Circuit Judge
Greene County Courthouse
519 N. Main Street
Carrollton, IL 62016

  • Circuit Judge: James W. Day

Jersey County Circuit Judge
Jersey County Courthouse
201 W. Pearl Street
Jerseyville, IL 62052

  • Circuit Judge: Eric S. Pistorius
    • Contact: Court Reporter Mary Bartlett - 618-498-5571 Ext. 104

Macoupin County Circuit and Associate Judges
Macoupin County Courthouse
201 E. Main Street
Carlinville, IL 62626

  • Chief Judge: Kenneth R. Deihl
    • Contact: Court Reporter Cheri Chapman - 217-854-3211 Ext. 265

  • Circuit Judge: April G. Troemper
    • Contact: Court Reporter Barb Snodgrass - 217-854-3181 Ext. 263

  • Associate Judge: Joshua Meyer
    • Contact: Court Reporter Tracy Mahan - 217-854-3181 Ext 267

Morgan County Circuit and Associate Judges
Morgan County Courthouse
300 W. State Street
Jacksonville, IL 62650

  • Circuit Judge: Christopher Reif
  • Associate Judge: Jeffery Tobin

Scott County Circuit Judge
Scott County Courthouse
35 E. Market Street
Winchester, IL 62694

  • Circuit Judge: David Cherry

  • Associate Judge: John M. Madonia
  • Associate Judge: John M. Madonia